About ANZMlearn

anzMLearn (‘anz-em-learn’) is a community of researchers and practitioners from Australia, Aotearoa and the Pacific who are interested in how mobile technologies can enrich learning in and outside the class. It was founded by Dr Laurel Evelyn Dyson at the 1st Mobile Learning Research Workshop held at the University of Technology, Sydney, on 25-26th November 2009, when Professor Agnes Kukulska-Hulme of the Open University, UK,  visited the Faculty of Information Technology. The name was suggested by Fiona Brady and the banner designed by Jessica Frawley. Laurel was elected founding President in 2009 and remained in that position for the first eight years, running the annual workshop for seven of the eight years and maintaining the website. One of her initiatives was the launch of the Best Project Award in 2010 to honour excellence in mobile learning in the region. New Co-Presidents were elected in 2016: Dr Kathryn MacCallum of the Eastern Institute of Technology, New Zealand; Dr Jessica K. Frawley of the University of Sydney; and Dr Hardy Ernst of the University of Queensland.

Our Aims

  1. Revolutionise education by using mobile technologies to provide active learning experiences to engage our students
  2. Investigate how mobile technologies can enhance learning outcomes for Indigenous people and other learners who have been ill served by the existing education system
  3. Explore ways of achieving sustainability in mLearning and embedding mLearning into our educational institutions
  4. Develop a sound theoretical and ethical basis for mLearning
  5. Support collaboration and sharing of knowledge amongst our members in the Australia-Pacific region and form productive ties with mLearning practitioners throughout the world.

ANZMLearn Workshop 2017

Hosted by the University of Southern Queensland (USQ) in Toowoomba, Queensland at the  ASCILITE 2017 conference.