Who We Are

anzMLearn (‘anz-em-learn’) is a community of researchers and practitioners from Australia, Aotearoa and the Pacific who are interested in how mobile technologies can enrich learning in and outside the class. It was founded by Dr Laurel Evelyn Dyson at the 1st Mobile Learning Research Workshop held at the University of Technology, Sydney, on 25-26th November 2009, when Professor Agnes Kukulska-Hulme of the Open University, UK, visited the Faculty of Information Technology. The name was suggested by Fiona Brady and the banner designed by Jessica Frawley. Laurel was elected founding President in 2009 and remained in that position for the first eight years, running the annual workshop for seven of the eight years and maintaining the website. One of her initiatives was the launch of the Best Project Award in 2010 to honour excellence in mobile learning in the region.

New Co-Presidents were elected in 2016: Dr Kathryn MacCallum of the Eastern Institute of Technology, New Zealand; Dr Jessica K. Frawley of the University of Sydney; and Dr Hardy Ernst of the University of Queensland.

ANZMLearn News

9th Mobile Learning Research Workshop Programme

Are you attending ascilite 2017? Don't forget anzMlLearn is hosting their 9th Mobile Learning Research Workshop in conjunction with ascilite - Sunday 3rd December 2017, University of Southern Queensland, Toowoomba, Australia. Workshop Aims: While mobile...

read more

Keynote Speaker Announced

Associate Professor Pedro Isaias, University of Queensland This exciting workshop will feature a keynote from Dr Pedro Isaias who is Associate Professor in Higher Education Innovation at the Institute for Teaching and Learning Innovation (ITaLI) at the University of...

read more

ANZMLearn Workshop 2017

Hosted by the University of Southern Queensland (USQ) in Toowoomba, Queensland at the  ASCILITE 2017 conference.